“Pura Vida” 2015

Stephen Kruse 

30″ x 40″ Acrylic on canvas 

I first saw Stephen Kruse painting live at a magical music festival in Colorado called Sonic Bloom. His work was displayed alongside many other pieces by an array of local artists. As I walked through the gallery, this painting jumped out at me. 

The smooth blending of colors made me feel…peaceful. Everything around me sort of faded out. I was amazed how the lines intertwined so perfectly into each other. 

The use of geometry is probably my favorite signature of his, it’s flawless. Detailed but also simple, the depth of his work speaks to me in a way I’ve not experienced through abstract art. It seems as though it’s moving right in front of your eyes! Take a look at the triangle pattern in the background; so realistic it’s as if you could climb in there and take a nap. 

The fluid lines direct your gaze through the painting so that you observe every shape and color…oh, the color! I mean who doesn’t like purple? It makes me feel sexy and fun, like it should be hanging above the bed in a castle. 

I highly encourage you to take a look through the rest of his work, I’m sure you will find something that speaks to your soul the way this one speaks to mine. Check out his Facebook page here. 

Thanks for reading! 

Leave a Reply

