“An Attempt at Relaxation”

Vasko Taskovski 1974

  
Upon first glance, this painting makes me feel a bit uneasy. However, the cool combination of blue and green puts a blanket of comfort over my emotions. 

As I look deeper into the background, I notice that the seemingly abstract shapes resemble a city at the edge of the sea. There are clouds floating through the sky and across the moon. There is a man sitting in contemplation gazing upwards (toward the moon?). 

As the title suggests, he is attempting to relax, but his thoughts have got the best of him. I believe that Taskovski was trying to portray how much goes on behind closed eyes. Countless times I’ve tried to meditate, or just sit in silcnce, but the stresses of everyday life come flooding towards me. I’m sure we can all relate to that.  

I encourage you to take a closer look at the shapes and textures scattered throughout this piece and notice how well they come together to form a story or situation. 

The overall mood of this piece has a dark feel to it, especially upon closer inspection of the mans face. 

I really enjoy it and hope you do as well. If you have a moment, it’s worth the effort to look at Taskovskis online gallery, it is simply mind-blowing! 

 http://www.vaskotaskovski.com/

Leave a Reply

